whiterose

linux unikernel
Log | Files | Refs | README | LICENSE | git clone https://git.ne02ptzero.me/git/whiterose

commit 738a7832d21e3d911fcddab98ce260b79010b461
parent d22113a2cd1f908e0e4809aa101542b02fb2abc2
Author: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
Date:   Thu, 18 Apr 2019 12:18:39 +0200

signal: use fdget() since we don't allow O_PATH

As stated in the original commit for pidfd_send_signal() we don't allow
to signal processes through O_PATH file descriptors since it is
semantically equivalent to a write on the pidfd.

We already correctly error out right now and return EBADF if an O_PATH
fd is passed.  This is because we use file->f_op to detect whether a
pidfd is passed and O_PATH fds have their file->f_op set to empty_fops
in do_dentry_open() and thus fail the test.

Thus, there is no regression.  It's just semantically correct to use
fdget() and return an error right from there instead of taking a
reference and returning an error later.

Signed-off-by: Christian Brauner <christian@brauner.io>
Acked-by: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Jann Horn <jann@thejh.net>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: "Michael Kerrisk (man-pages)" <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirsky <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Aleksa Sarai <cyphar@cyphar.com>
Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>

Diffstat:
Mkernel/signal.c | 2+-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/signal.c b/kernel/signal.c @@ -3581,7 +3581,7 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE4(pidfd_send_signal, int, pidfd, int, sig, if (flags) return -EINVAL; - f = fdget_raw(pidfd); + f = fdget(pidfd); if (!f.file) return -EBADF;