whiterose

linux unikernel
Log | Files | Refs | README | LICENSE | git clone https://git.ne02ptzero.me/git/whiterose

commit d124b44f09cab67fc6da4a4513417e3e54b01efc
parent 4b92e7fd76e94624e3d5ff56b3d6a5788c4a7ac8
Author: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
Date:   Tue, 18 Sep 2018 18:55:41 +0200

Compiler Attributes: naked was fixed in gcc 4.6

Commit 9c695203a7dd ("compiler-gcc.h: gcc-4.5 needs noclone
and noinline on __naked functions") added noinline and noclone
as a workaround for a gcc 4.5 bug, which was resolved in 4.6.0.

Since now the minimum gcc supported version is 4.6,
we can clean it up.

See https://gcc.gnu.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=44290
and https://godbolt.org/z/h6NMIL

Fixes: 815f0ddb346c ("include/linux/compiler*.h: make compiler-*.h mutually exclusive")
Cc: Rasmus Villemoes <linux@rasmusvillemoes.dk>
Cc: Eli Friedman <efriedma@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Christopher Li <sparse@chrisli.org>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Dominique Martinet <asmadeus@codewreck.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: linux-sparse@vger.kernel.org
Tested-by: Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
Reviewed-by: Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
Reviewed-by: Luc Van Oostenryck <luc.vanoostenryck@gmail.com>
Reviewed-by: Nick Desaulniers <ndesaulniers@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Miguel Ojeda <miguel.ojeda.sandonis@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

Diffstat:
Minclude/linux/compiler-gcc.h | 8+-------
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h b/include/linux/compiler-gcc.h @@ -84,14 +84,8 @@ * to trace naked functions because then mcount is called without * stack and frame pointer being set up and there is no chance to * restore the lr register to the value before mcount was called. - * - * The asm() bodies of naked functions often depend on standard calling - * conventions, therefore they must be noinline and noclone. - * - * GCC 4.[56] currently fail to enforce this, so we must do so ourselves. - * See GCC PR44290. */ -#define __naked __attribute__((naked)) noinline __noclone notrace +#define __naked __attribute__((naked)) notrace #define __UNIQUE_ID(prefix) __PASTE(__PASTE(__UNIQUE_ID_, prefix), __COUNTER__)